Dr. Kurt Ewen

The Carl M. "Cheesie" Nelson Award

This award honors the importance of administrative leadership at Texas community colleges by recognizing a Vice President or Dean who has demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities.

These traits include but are not limited to: 

(1) Understanding of, and commitment to, the mission of the comprehensive community college; (2) Demonstrated support for student learning and success; (3) Ability to develop broad-based perspectives; (4) Capacity to develop effective, collegial working relationships with faculty and staff; (5) Character traits typically associated with effective leadership (e.g., honesty, integrity, compassion, fairness and equity); (6) Demonstrated involvement in community-oriented activities outside the college; and (7) Support for, and engagement with, professional development activities. 


Award Year

Award Recipient

2022 Kurt Ewen, Ph.D. 


Fred Hills, Ph.D.
2020 Karen Buck, M.Ed.


Donna McDaniel, Ph.D.


Steve Smith
2017 Juan E. Mejia, Ed.D.
2016 Leann Ellis, Ed.D.
2015 Federico Zaragoza, Ph.D.
2014 Ron Clinton, DMA
2013 Laurel Williamson, Ph.D.
2012 Michael W. Jenkins, Ph.D.
2011 Shah Ardalan
2010 Bobby Smith
2009 Maya Durnovo, Ed.D.
2008 Jonathan McCullough, Ph.D.
2007 Kathryn K. Eggleston, Ph.D.
2006 Lydia Tena-Perez, Ed.D.
2005 Johnette McKown, Ed.D.
2004 Christal Albrecht, Ed.D.
2003 Judy G. Traylor, Ed.D.