TSC News

Achieving the Dream announced Amarillo College as one of the two winners of the 2019 Leah Meyer Austin Award at its annual DREAM conference on February 19 in Long Beach, CA. Amarillo College and Columbus State Community College (Ohio) were recognized for their work measurably improving student outcomes through cultural transformation. 

After examining institutional data, Amarillo College embarked on the No Excuses poverty initiative and established a culture of caring at the college. Amarillo College shares its strategies with other colleges through its Culture of Caring Summit.  Read more about Amarillo College's recognition by Achieving the Dream and watch excerpts from the award ceremony.

The Texas Success Center recognized five Texas community colleges for their work implementing and scaling mathematics pathways.  The awards, given in conjunction with the Charles A. Dana Center at the University of Texas at Austin, were announced at Texas Pathways Institute #5 on November 14, 2018.

  • Overall Exemplar: Paris Junior College (pictured)
  • Principle 1: Grayson College
  • Principle 2: San Jacinto College
  • Principle 3: McLennan Community College
  • Principle 4: College of the Mainland

Read more on the Charles A. Dana Center blog.

Steve Smith, vice president of instruction and workforce education at El Paso Community College, received the 2018 Carl M. “Cheesie” Nelson Administrative Leadership Award from the Texas Association of Community Colleges (TACC) at the TACC Summer Conference in Corpus Christi.  The "Cheesie" Nelson Award recognizes administrators with outstanding leadership qualities who have made a significant impact on higher education.  Read more from the El Paso Herald-Post.

Odessa College, Palo Alto College (Alamo Colleges), and San Jacinto College were named finalists for the 2019 Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence.  Read the press release announcing the 10 finalists for the national award.  To determine the winner(s) of the prize, Aspen, with other community college experts, will conduct site visits to each finalist institution and will collect information on employment and earnings outcomes and learning assessment practices.