

New Trustee Orientation

January 25, 2024 | Speaker Biographies

Dr. Martha Ellis

Dr. Martha Ellis is a Senior Pathways Lead for the Texas Success Center, Achieving the Dream Leadership Coach, and professor of practice at the University of Texas at Austin.

Previously, Martha was Managing Director for the Charles A. Dana Center at the University of Texas at Austin. Before joining the Dana Center, Dr. Ellis was Associate Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs for the University of Texas System. Martha has 35 years of experience in community colleges in Texas and New Mexico including two college presidencies, provost, chief information officer, undergraduate dean, and faculty member.

Dr. Ellis chaired the Appeals Committee for the Commission on Colleges for the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. She was on the Board of the American Association of Community Colleges and the Executive Committee of the Texas Association of Community Colleges. Among many other great accomplishments, Dr. Ellis has also served as interim CEO of TACC in two separate instances; including summer 2022 before Ray Martinez joined the team in August.

Susan Moore-Fontenot

Susan Moore-Fontenot is Chair-Elect of the CCATT Board of Directors and serves as the Vice Chair for the Lee College Board of Regents. Susan has been a Regent since 1988 and has held every board office. She chaired the 2019 Presidential Search Committee and serves on the Policy Committee. In October 2023, Susan was elected to serve on the national Association of Community College Trustees Board of Directors.

Susan retired as director of personnel For Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District in 2014 after completing 38 years in public education. She attended Lee College and graduated magna cum laude, earning a bachelor's degree in speech pathology from Sam Houston State University. Her master's degree is in educational supervision from Lamar University. Professionally, she has served as president of the Texas Association of School Administrators.



Dr. Johnette McKown

Dr. Johnette McKown was named the third president of McLennan Community College in February 2009 and assumed the office of President on September 1. During her 28-year tenure at McLennan, McKown has provided leadership for the campus, first as Vice President of Business Services and then as Executive Vice President.

Her many accomplishments at McLennan include providing leadership in commitment to student scholarships, leading the sustainability movement on campus and nationally, bringing innovative financing to the campus to add more than \$117 million in improvements, and incorporating "access with success" initiatives.

Dr. McKown is committed to student success and volunteering in the community. She supports Presidential and Honors College students, the campus food pantry, underrepresented students, and established the Stephen and Stuart McKown Emergency Fund.

Earl Stinnett

Earl Stinnett Sr. serves as the Board Chair for McLennan Community College (MCC). He is a seasoned professional, retired from the City of Waco, and seamlessly transitioned into the role of a trustee, driven by a deep-rooted commitment to give back to the educational institution that shaped not only his life but also the lives of his family.

As a trustee, he finds immense satisfaction in witnessing the positive impact that MCC has on the community, highlighting the dedication of MCC staff and faculty in providing every student with opportunities for success. Earl recognizes MCC's crucial role in offering high-quality and affordable education, benefiting the community by providing jobs, workforce training, and creating accessible educational opportunities for local residents. His personal connection with MCC runs deep, having obtained a degree from Tarleton State on the MCC Campus, and with both of his children graduating from MCC. Earl Stinnett Sr.'s dedication to education and community service exemplifies a lifelong commitment to making a positive and lasting impact on future generations.



Dr. Laurie Turner

Dr. Laurie Turner, elected in 2020, is an accomplished education leader with a doctorate in educational leadership from Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi. She holds a master's degree in public affairs from Washington State University and a bachelor's degree in criminal justice from Portland State University.

Currently an educator in the Gregory-Portland Independent School District, Dr. Turner also serves on the Texas State Board of Educator Certification, contributing significantly to education policy.

Her community involvement includes serving on the Nueces County Historical Commission and as a board member for the Flour Bluff Citizen Council. Dr. Turner is also a board member and treasurer for Mercy Seat, showcasing her commitment to philanthropy.

As a member of the Citizens' Advisory Committee, she actively contributes to the preservation of the Harbor Bridge, Hillcrest, and Washington-Coles communities. Dr. Laurie Turner's dedication to education and community development makes her a prominent figure in both spheres.

Neil Vickers

Neil Vickers is the Chief Financial Officer for the Austin Community College District (ACC), directly responsible for the College's budget, financing, and investment activities. He oversees the departments of Business Services, Human Resources, Information Technology, and Facilities & Construction as well as the offices of Business Processes & Initiatives, Records & Information Management, the Office of Compliance and the Ombudsperson.

Mr. Vickers has served in a number of positions at ACC since 1997. Prior to taking the position of Executive Vice Chancellor, he held the titles of Vice President of Finance & Budget, Budget Coordinator, Financial Report Specialist, and Accounts Payable Specialist.

Mr. Vickers earned a bachelor's degree in Mathematics from the University of Texas at Austin, and a Master of Accountancy from Texas State University. His coursework includes over 40 credit hours taken at ACC. Mr. Vickers has been a licensed Certified Public Accountant since 2003. He has also taught as an adjunct faculty member in ACC's Accounting Department.